Skip to Content

Richard Parker Memorial Award

Established in 1984. The Richard Parker Memorial Award is presented to a fellow member of the National Federation of the Blind of Nebraska who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and dedication to the organized blind movement in Nebraska. The Award is named in honor of Richard "Dick" Parker, elected President upon the reorganization of NFBN in 1971. His efforts in the blindness movement in Nebraska directly resulted in drastic changes to the State Agency for the Blind from the top down in the mid 1970's. Richard Parker also served as the Director of Nebraska's Radio Talking Book program from it's inception in 1974 until his death in 1982. The Richard Parker Award is the highest honor that our Affiliate can bestow on an individual.

Past Recipients:
1977 Richard Parker
1984 James Walker
1988 Mary Doty
1991 Barbara Walker
1992 Aloma Bouma
1995 Hubert Paulson
1997 Cheryl Livingston
2005 Carlos Servan
2009 Mike Hansen
2010 Amy and Shane Buresh
2014 Carol Jenkins

Back to top